NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Grays Harbor Raceway > Simpson, Margeson, Holbert and Stallsmith Beat Mother Nature

 Moderated by: Rick Terry, Kelly Hart, Kaleb, Fletch
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Simpson, Margeson, Holbert and Stallsmith Beat Mother Nature  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Monday May 20th, 2019 12:57 AM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
Aarons Racing Videos

Joined: Wednesday Mar 19th, 2014
Location: Elma, Washington USA
Posts: 531
Simpson, Margeson, Holbert and Stallsmith Beat Mother Nature

Racing action at Grays Harbor Raceway took the checkered flag before Mother Nature on Saturday night as the Shipwreck Beads Modifieds, Northwest Focus Midgets Series, PHRA Dwarf Cars and Outlaw Tuners took to the 3/8 banked clay oval. This was the first appearance of the 2019 season for the Northwest Focus Midgets Series, and PHRA Dwarf Cars.

Shipwreck Beads Modifieds

Casey Smith of Olympia took the early lead in the 25 lap Shipwreck Beads Modified feature event. Cosmopolis driver Tom Sweatman sat in the second position looking to track down Smith for the lead. Scott Miller of Shelton moved into third, making it a three car battle for the lead with Smith and Sweatman. Smith continued to run the middle part of the track, but the red flag quickly came out for Tacoma's Zach Fuller, going upside down in turn four. Fuller was uninjured in the accident. On the restart Miller looked to the outside of Smith and took over the lead, bringing Sweatman with him. Kyler Moore of Seabeck ran in the third spot. Sweatman and Miller battled for the lead midway through the race with Sweatman taking the lead. Hoquiam's Zack Simpson joined in on the battle getting by Moore for third. A late race restart saw Simpson make a move at Miller and Sweatman. A pass for the lead saw Simpson take over the top spot and go on to pick up the Shipwreck Beads Modifieds feature event. Sweatman, and Moore rounded out the top five. Heat race winners were Moore, and Oakville's Brian Harding.

PHRA Dwarf Cars

Roseburg, Ore's Erin Morgenstern took to the lead in the PHRA Dwarf Car feature bringing Josh Rodgers of Longview. Leo Ward of Happy Valley, Ore and Justin DeMars of Sandy, Ore joined in on the battle. Morgenstern saw issues on the backstretch, spinning out bringing out the caution. Ward led the field to the green flag, as DeMars and Rodgers battled for second. DeMars took over the runner up spot and set his sights on Ward for the lead. DeMars took the lead a handful of laps later, with Ward giving a battle for the lead. DeMars quickly working his way through lap traffic as Ward and Rodgers battled for second. DeMars saw issues late into the feature spinning in turn four, bringing out the caution. Rodgers took over the lead on a 5 lap shootout, with Ward, and Carson's Rich Holbert in on the battle. DeMars quickly worked his way back up to fourth. Ward and DeMars looked to try and make a last lap pass off of turn four, but Holbert held them off to pick up the win. DeMars, Ward, Morgenstern and Mollala, Ore driver Henry Corbin II rounded out the top five. Heat race winners were Henry Corbin III of Mollala, Ore and DeMars

Northwest Focus Midgets Series

21 Northwest Focus Midget Series cars were signed in for action on the 3/8 banked clay oval. Kent's Mike Stryker took the early lead on the start, but the caution quickly flew and the start was called back. Alger's Shane Smith struck first on the complete restart, taking over the lead. Poulsbo's AJ Fugitt moved into the second spot, looking to chase down Smith for the lead. A battle for third between Matt Loving of Burlington and Tacoma's Evan Margeson saw Margeson take over the position as Fugitt stayed right close with Smith. All three cars were within striking distance until Smith saw issues and pulled off the track while leading, giving up the top spot to Margeson. Nik Larson of Lake Stevens and Fugitt battled for third, with Larson bringing Nick Evans of Marysville with him, shuffling Fugitt back to fifth. Margeson went on to pick up the win over Evans, Fugitt, Loving, and Shoreline's Hannah Lindquist. Heat race winners were Evans, Margeson and Lindquist.

Outlaw Tuners

Marlina Sheats of Olympia took to the early lead, as Belfair's Max Sanford and Zach Stallsmith of Olympia battled for second. Stallsmith looked to the outside on lap 2 and took over the lead. Stallsmith used the top side to pull away as Sanford and Sheats battled for second. Sanford caught up with Stallsmith and made a pass for the lead midway through the feature event. Sanford slowly started to pull away, running the low side of the raceway but still had no room for mistakes as Stallsmith kept him within striking distance. Sanford bobbled in turn two on the white flag lap giving Stallsmith the lead. Stallsmith took the checkered flag, Sanford, Sheats, Lash, and Chad Norton of Tenino rounded out the top five. Sanford picked up the heat race win earlier in the evening.

Racing will resume next Saturday night with the Wingless Sprint Series, Cut Rate Auto Parts Street Stocks, Outlaw Tuners and the appearance of the Vintage Modifieds. Gates will open at 5:30PM with racing at 7PM.

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 10:58 AM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Grays Harbor Raceway > Simpson, Margeson, Holbert and Stallsmith Beat Mother Nature Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems