NWRaceChat Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Deming Speedway > A Champion Again: Peterson Wins Clay Cup

 Moderated by: nettersc39
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
A Champion Again: Peterson Wins Clay Cup  Rate Topic 
 Posted: Sunday Jul 21st, 2019 06:41 AM
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post

Joined: Sunday Mar 5th, 2006
Location: Washington USA
Posts: 1708
A Champion Again: Peterson Wins Clay Cup


Everson, WA - After winning Clay Cup in 2007, Jared Peterson has been on a mission to taste the sweet success of Clay up victory lane again, albeit unsuccessfully. After four appearances as runner up in the past 12 years, Peterson climbed to the top of the mountain again, winning $10,000 at the 2019 Clay Cup Nationals presented by IBEW / NECA in the 600 Open Division. Peterson was the only driver to win at this years Clay Cup who’d had a previous victory as new winners were crowned in the 1200, 600 Restricted and Junior Sprint division with Steven Hendrickson, Jade Avedisian and Cash Lovenburg collected victories.

Jake Andreotti set the pace in the Speedmart 600 Open division, leading the early going with Cody Key and Cody Christensen in hot pursuit. Key would drop out with mechanical issues early, paving the way for what looked to be an Andreotti vs Christensen battle as Andreotti entered traffic approaching the mid stages of the race. A caution would give Andreotti clean air at lap eighteen, all the while Jared Peterson had moved into fourth from his original seventh place starting spot behind Michael Faccinto. On the restart, Peterson cleared Faccinto for third and set sail for Christensen, who was losing ground to Andreotti. As the top three wound their way around, Peterson found the low groove to his liking, making up ground a passing Christensen for second on the 29th lap. A few laps earlier, Andreotti had run too high and kissed the wall in turn three, and coming through the corners on the 31st lap, he did the same thing, only significantly harder this time, breaking al; his forward momentum. Jake would jump back on the gas, but not before Peterson had cleared him low and shuffled him back to second. The field would come to caution on lap 32 with Peterson now leading Andreotti on the restart. Andreotti tried a slide job two times in the laps to come, Jared had the correct counter move each time, holding him off to claim the emotional victory ahead of Andreotti and Faccinto and the $10,000 top prize. Kyle Mitchell earned the John Heerspink Hard Charger award and $1,000 for picking up thirteen spots in the 40 lap A Main.

The miserable 2019 season that Steven Hendrickson has been experiencing turned completely around wit a $3,000 win in the Clay Cup A Main for the Shots 2 Go Espresso 1200 division. Hendrickson was the top point scorer coming into the main event and would lead all 40 laps relatively unchallenged in grabbing the first Clay Cup title in over 15 years of trying for the Bellingham, WA driver. Derek Holmwood came out on top of a spirited battle for second with Jared Gundersen. Doug Nunes of California earned the $1,000 John Heerspink Hard Charger award, passing for seven positions.

In Mytrafficman.NET 600 Restricted action, Jade Avedisian was dominating in winning her first Clay Cup. Taking the lead from Levi Klatt with an inside move on lap six, Avedisian was masterful in clean air and among slower cars in collecting the $3,500 top prize and the biggest race win of her young career. Klatt would hold strong in the second spot, fending off third place Jordi Meese in the late stages of the 30 lap main event. Dalton Parreira was the John Heerspink Hard Charger Winner, earning $1,000 for his 18th to 9th place run.

Levi Hillier misfortune turned into Cash Lovenburg’s triumph in the Clean Crawls Junior Sprints. With $700 to win on the line, Hillier led laps one through twenty two but his power plant would expire on the back stretch of lap twenty three, giving the lead to Lovenburg, who’d been looming four car lengths back for the bulk of the main. With just three laps to go, Lovenburg would score the biggest win of his young career ahead of Jett Barnes and Avery Askvig, who picked up her first career podium finish at Deming Speedway and the John Heersping Hard Charger award and $1,000 in the process.

Speedmart 600 Open
C Main 1 - Tyler McLeod, Kyle Kennedy, Keith Day Jr, Jeremy Holz, Reese Wickard, Tony Alosi, Kai Dixon, Ryan Van Baal, Sean Ferguson
C Main 2 - Colin Mackey, Devon Borden, Jon Farrell, Derek Torkelson, Ryan Holz, Dakota Drake, Nathan Bordenave, Tristin Thomas, Parker Hadlock, Caeden Steele, Tanner Holm, Austin Edson, Mike Rich, Colby Greig
B Main - Colby Thornhill, Kyle Mitchell, Ben Worth, Reece Goetz, Kyle Johnson, Kaden Holm, Kaitlyn Hammer, Dylan Resch, Kyle Kennedy, Tyler McLeod, Cody Hogarth, Joe Constance, Ryley Mayer, Kevin Wilkinson, Malachi Gemmer, Rachel Westmoreland, Corey Day, Jesse Schlotfeldt, Levi Klatt, Colin Mackey, Devon Borden
A Main - Jared Peterson, Jake Andreotti, Michael Faccinto, Chance Crum, Kyle Mitchell, Ben Worth, Evan Margeson, Paul Javaux, Ryan Reeves, Ashlyn Rodriguez, Ryan Rocha, Stan Yockey, Cody Christensen, Troy Morris III, TJ Smith, Reece Goetz, Colby Thornhill, Cody Key, Jake Hagopian, Mitchel Moles
Lap Leaders - Andreotti 1-30 Peterson 31-40
John Heerspink Hard Charger ($1000) - Mitchell +13

Shots 2 Go Espresso
B Main - Clennon Holloway, Luke Didiuk, Chance Crum, Dick Williams, Dalton Sexton, Bryce Bogardus, David Lehman, Tanner Schoonover, Frosty Metcalfe
A Main ($3000) - Steven Hendrickson, Derek Holmwood, Jared Gundersen, Doug Nunes, Seth Hespe, Alex Lewis, Grant Sexton, Tyson Lemley, Terry Lewis, Cal Herdson, Brent Sexton, Clennon Holloway, Nate Vaughn, Dalton Sexton, Tanner Reid, Dick Williams, Dakota Drake, Brock Lemley, Dustin O’Brien, Chance Crum, Luke Didiuk
Lap Leaders - Hendrickson 1-40
John Heerspink Hard Charger ($1000) - Nunes +7

B Main - Jesson Jacobson, Dalton Parreira, Seth Anderlini, Brody Ferguson, Corbin Ramsey, Keira Zylstra, Tyler Conley, Dominic Carter, Caleb Grantham, Tank Chorney, Catherine Fagerlie, Riley Hood, Carson Guffie, Rylee Kentch, Haylee Bloodgood, Diane Knutzen, Axel Oudman
A Main ($3500) - Jade Avedidisan, Levi Klatt, Jordi Meese, Gauge Garcia, Jake Trueman, Devon Courtnier, Lane Taylor, Logan Trevino, Dalton Parreira, Blaine Granberg, Ryan Rocha, Jesson Jacobson, James Andrichuk, Malachi Gemmer, Jayden Whitney, Haley Constance, Brody Ferguson, Seth Anderlini, Carson Borden, Isabel Barnes
Lap Leaders - Klatt 1-5 Avedisian 6-30
John Heerspink Hard Charger ($1000) - Parreira +9

Clean Crawls Junior Sprints
B Main - Avery Askvig, Cruz Kentch, Conner Sagmoen, Ty Lovenburg, Elizabeth Wade, Jonathan Andrichuk, Jayden Huppert
A Main ($700) - Cash Lovenburg, Jett Barnes, Avery Askvig, Dustin Ramsey, Colton Key, Orn Biggs, Ty Lovenburg, Olivia Laurimore, Jayce Medcalf, Peyton Drake, Lucas Mauldin, Conner Sagmoen, Levi Hillier, Kane Van Sickle, McKenna Morgan, Karma Fagerlie, Levi Kuntz, Cruz Kentch
Lap Leaders - HIllier 1-22 C Lovenburg 23-25
John Heerspink Hard Charger ($1000) - Askvig +12

There are ways of expressing your disagreement with another person's opinion that don't come off as adversarial. As long as those methods are employed, differing opinions are healthy.
Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Current time is 05:17 PM  
NWRaceChat > RACETALK > Deming Speedway > A Champion Again: Peterson Wins Clay Cup Top

UltraBB 1.172 Copyright © 2007-2011 Data 1 Systems